6. Truth

Jacob held my hand during the whole test. He looked a little scared, and sort of happy, when Carlisle said that everything seemed all right. Carlisle also said that we’d probably ought to make a new test every week, since I was half-human-half vampire, and Jacob was a werewolf. He and the pack banned everyone who mentioned shape-shifter, and so I called him werewolf.
What a funny child! Third-human-third-vampire-third-werewolf… I wondered what it must feel like to be your own enemy. Would my child be a Smeagol/Gollum?
No. No, no, no. Schizophrenia and whatever this was could not be the same thing!
It wasn’t, I decided.
I asked Jacob to leave for a moment; I wanted to talk with Carlisle. He went out to the car, wary. Carlisle looked at me with concerned eyes.
“Is it really as good as it looks?” I asked when I knew Jacob couldn’t hear.
He sighed. “I don’t know. But if this would be a human child—which I doubt this is—everything would have looked great. So don’t worry.”
I didn’t really listen to what he said. I just looked right into his golden eyes. He opened his mouth, as if to say something, but I was faster.
“What am I going to say to Mom?” I didn’t have time to think of another way to put that.
“I think the best way is to just tell her. She’ll find out eventually anyway.”
“Dad’s gonna kill me…” I murmured.
“No, he is not. I can talk to him, if you’d like?”
No! No way! “Um…”
“Or you can do it yourself.”
Okay, so I’d rather have Carlisle “telling” Dad than me doing it.
“Fine, but could you at least wait until, like, I don’t know, next week?” Dang, my voice broke.
“Tomorrow, or you will do it yourself.”
I clenched my teeth. “Fine.”

I smashed the door shut and put my hands on the wheel. Then I couldn’t hold it in any longer. The tears ran down my cheeks. Jacob took me in his arms. I sat in his lap, crying like I’d never done before in his presence. He didn’t say anything, he just comforted me by being there, stroking my back.
I hadn’t noticed it was dark until I heard my phone ringing. I tried to ignore it, but Jake took it out of my pocket.
“Hi, Bella, it’s Jacob,” he answered it and gave me a meaningful eye. I groaned. He listened to what she said. And then he handed me the phone.
“Renesmee Carlie Cullen, where are you?”
I started the engine. “I’m on my way. Where do I meet you?”
“The big house.”
I cut her off. I switched on the radio and pressed the accelerator.
“Can you turn up the volume?”
He pushed the button three times.
“Louder…”
“Nessie—“
“Just do it! I don’t want to think!” And I didn’t. I didn’t think. I just sang, or maybe shouted, along with the songs. I didn’t want Dad to hear my thoughts.
As soon as we got to the house, I flew inside. “Mom!”
She was there in the third of a second. “Let’s go outside.” She dragged me with her. I was very thankful to the fact that she understood that I didn’t want Dad here.
We hunted in silence. I caught a few foxes, my favorite. But I couldn’t keep this inside anymore.
And neither could she.
“Renesmee, what’s wrong?”
I took a deep breath. “Mom, please don’t kill me…” I whispered.
“Hon’, why in the world would I want to kill you?”
“I’m pregnant.” There, I said it.
“What?! You’re pregnant?”
Oh, no. Oh no, no, no! Don’t kill me! Please don’t…
She stared at me for two and a half seconds. It felt like years.
“Come here,” she said and embraced me. “Why would I want to kill you?”
I ignored her question. Mom, I’m scared.
“Yes, I know.”
That’s not very comforting. Just so you know.
She chuckled. “Sorry.”
We started walking back towards the house. Mom held my hand; she really knew how to comfort me.
We talked about my day. About the test, that everything looked good. We talked about her theories. She had actually thought of pregnancy earlier, but she’d thought it was impossible. Not literally impossible, though, but she just couldn’t believe it.
We also talked about her becoming a grandmother at the age of 43. Sort of…
She never mentioned Jake or Dad, and neither did I. I was just beginning to relax a bit when we saw the opening in the forest.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Kajsa (om du kommer ihåg??)

Jag har läst ALLA kaptitlen nu! Jag väntar spänt på forsättningen! Du är grymmmm ;)

Shit, jag är helt tagen. SKITBRA!

2010-06-07 @ 17:12:32
URL: http://kajsapedersen.devote.se
Postat av: Emma

Den är verkligen sjukt bra. Hoppas nästa kapitel kommer snart :)

2010-06-11 @ 17:38:28
Postat av: lenore.

du är sjukt duktig! men jag förstår inte, kan bella läsa renesmee's tankar?

2010-06-12 @ 17:37:04
URL: http://lenoreberglund.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0