1. Dinner

I stared at myself in the mirror. No way! I only wore underwear, I had just woken up. Jake was out with the pack. I turned to look at my profile.

It is hard, trying to deny the impossible truth. Two weeks had gone. I had never been late before. Never! Not a single day.

Two weeks.

My eyes scanned my body. Evidently, my face was green. At least it felt green. I dashed into the toilet.

Oh, no! Throwing up was not a good sign. I went into the kitchen and filled a glass of water. As I drank it, I realized I had to see Carlisle. Tomorrow. Maybe...

I kept on thinking like that the whole day. Jacob came home about 3 pm. He reminded me of the fact that Sam, Emily, and their two sons Adam and Leonard, was going to have dinner with us. Luckily, I hadn’t forgotten.

I’d taken a shower just before he got home, and I was beginning to cook. I was a very good chef, I had to admit. Tonight I was making pork chop with an apple-sauce and potatoes.

The Uleys came over at seven. Dinner was just ready, and I asked Jacob to lay the table.

”Smells great.” he said as he entered the kitchen.

”Thank you,” I said and looked down in the floor, a little embarrassed. Emotions had attacked me all day, and I figured it must be the... thing.

”Hey, is there something wrong?” Jake said, taking my face in his hands.

Everything’s wrong! I almost thought.

”No.”

He looked right into my eyes, doubting. ”You sure about that? Nothing wrong at all?”

”Yes and no,” I answered both of his questions. He kissed my forehead and put his arm around my waist. He held me close to him as he led me to the living room.

”Dinner’s ready,” I said to our guests. Emily was the one to react first.

”Do you have any special seating in mind?” she asked politely.

”No, we’re not that formal,” I answered her. Jake was talking to Sam, I didn’t bother to listen.

”Then I’ll sit next to you, I think.”

”Sure,” I said and smiled. Thank you, Emily! Jake sat down at my other side. He took my hand instead. I held it tight; I needed him close to me.

Leo was the younger of the two boys; he recently turned thirteen. He didn’t say that much; filled with hormones, obviously. He sat down across from Emily. Next to him was Adam.

Adam was fifteen, almost sixteen. He hadn’t got the ”fever” yet, though it was just a matter of time. So far he was acting very nice to everybody.

Sam sat next to Adam, opposite Jacob.

”Enjoy!” I said when everyone was seated.

The food was appreciated, and nothing was left over. We had a really good time, almost crying with laughter sometimes. Everyone but Leo. After about an hour he asked Emily if he could go home.

”Leo...” Emily said. He sighed and looked out the window.

”It’s okay,” I whispered to Emily. She sighed, too.

”Fine.”

”Keys?”

”Under the flowers—”

”As usual...” He left with heavy steps, and his head was hanging down like a dead flower.

”Please excuse him. He just broke up with his girlfriend,” Sam said.

”Oh, of course,” I said. The conversations moved on. Emily and I talked about a movie we had seen last week. It was a comedy, and it was really funny. We still laughed at some parts.

I really enjoyed myself as the hours passed by. I ended up in Jacob’s arms, cuddling a little.

But suddenly, totally out of the blue, the nice atmosphere was destroyed by a question from Sam.

”So, have you guys thought about marriage and children yet?”

Awkward silence. Luckily I already held Jacob’s hand. Please, Jake, say something!

”No, we haven’t talked about that yet...” I let go of his hand.

Fuck! I did not like swearing at all, but it felt like I didn’t have a choice.

Jake put his arm around me, so that his hand was placed at the middle of my stomach.

Adam started talking about his school-project instead. My eyes were probably screaming Thank you, Adam!

Then, with the perfect timing, the incomprehensible happened. The thing turned! Or maybe it moved, whatever. With Jake’s hand on it!

Jacob had just begun to relax, when he froze. I couldn’t even feel him breathing.

FUCK! This wasn’t happening!

”Renesmee,” he breathed into my ear. I swallowed. "What. Was. That?” I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t even notice that everything was quiet. I ran outside.

”Nessie!” Jake shouted and ran after me.

”I don’t know...” I murmured to myself.

”What was that?” he repeated. ”Is it what I think it is?”

I sat down by my favorite tree. But Jacob wouldn’t let me. He dragged me up to my feet again. It was like I was somewhere else. Jacob was standing in front of me, talking to me. I even think he was shaking me.

I didn’t react. His voice was far away, and so were my thoughts. I had to see Carlisle. Now.

I came back to reality.

”...made a test? Are you sure? How long...?

”Shh!” He looked at me. ”One question at a time,” I ordered. He swallowed and scrubbed his face with his hands.

”Renesmee, are you pregnant?” he said between his hands.

”I don’t know.” Almost true...

”So you haven’t made a test?”

”No.” True.

He nodded once. ”Do you want to?”

”What? Make a test?”

He nodded again. I shook my head.

”Okay,” he said. I thought the interrogation was over, but apparently, it wasn’t. ”For how long have you known?”

”I said I didn’t know—”

”How long, Nessie?” He glared at me.

”I’ve been late for two weeks,” I almost said. He heard me.

”Why didn’t you tell me?” he asked, pleading now.

”I don’t know...” He made me feel embarrassed. I guess it was fair enough.

”You don’t know...” he chuckled.

”No,” I murmured. ”I love you.” He turned to look at the house, and I took my chance.

I ran. Away from Jacob, away from the house, away from our guests. Away from the questions.

”Renesmee!” I heard him call after me. I was afraid he’d follow, but I did not turn around.

Since I didn’t know where Dad was, I had to keep my thoughts away from him. Carlisle, Carlisle, Carlisle...

When I got to the big house, I took a quick look in the window. My cheeks was striped with tears.

I opened the front door. ”Carlisle?” I called quietly. Rosalie came down the stairs.

”He and Esme are out, hunting. Is there something wrong?” I ignored her question.

”When will he be back?” I didn’t care about Esme right now.

”Tomorrow, I think.”

”Thank you, Rose,” I said and turned.

”No problem...”

I decided to text Jacob. I knew it was cowardly done, but I couldn’t talk to him yet.

 

I’m sorry. Sleeping at Mom and Dad’s tonight. Please forgive me.

 

After a half minute, I got reply.

 

I love you. You’re forgiven. I understand.

 

I replied a short message, too.

 

I love you too. Thank you.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Klara

TT______TT



Jaaaaaaaaaaaa!!

2010-05-09 @ 23:40:27

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0