12. Scream

I sat in one of the chairs on the balcony. The sun was burning my face, and I wondered if I could get a tan. It had been quite hard getting a tan in La Push, so I didn’t even know if it was possible for me. Well, maybe not at this time of the day...
Jacob sat in the other chair. It looked like he was sleeping, but I wasn’t sure. I could only be certain when he was snoring, which he wasn’t right now.
A strange noise came from my stomach. Jacob opened one eye slightly, and then he sighed and smiled. “Sorry, we should get something to eat, right?”
I hadn’t thought of that until he mentioned it, but yes, I was very hungry. And as I thought about food, I realized I was thirsty too.
My eyes widened, and my mouth fell open. There was a very strong scent from somewhere near us, below I thought.
“Renesmee. No.” His voice was distinct and firm.
But all I could think about was the fire in my throat. It was unbearable. I couldn’t stand it. Though there was still a part of me that wanted food. Real food. Unfortunately that part was too small.
A low hiss came from my lips. And then I was inside.
“Renesmee. No,” Jacob said again.
There was a buzzing sound from my purse.
“Don’t breathe,” he ordered. He didn’t take his eyes from me as he took the phone in his hand. “It’s Carlisle. Do you want me to answer?”
I hadn’t moved a muscle since he told me not to breathe. It seemed like I didn’t move now either, but the phone was in my hand. I held it there for three seconds, long as years.
I put the phone slowly to my ear, but I didn’t say anything. I didn’t breathe.
“Renesmee?” he asked on the other side.
I squealed and took a deep breath.
Pain.
Fire.
Flames.
“Hhh...” I breathed. My eyes were bulging.
“Renesmee, you have to hold your breath!” Jacob reminded me.
“Renesmee, could you give the phone to Jacob?” Carlisle ordered calmly.
Jacob heard and grabbed the phone out of my hand, which was left behind at my ear.
“Carlisle?” He took my hand that still was at my ear and caressed it.
I probably could have heard their conversation, but I didn’t listen. I had to focus on gaining control of myself. I didn’t even hear what Jacob said.
I didn’t know how I got there, but after a few minutes or so we were in a forest.
“Can I breathe now?” I mouthed.
He put his hands on my shoulders and studied my face carefully, like he was waiting for my wild reaction. “Yes. Careful...”
I closed my eyes. My hand were at my sides, clenched into fists. I inhaled slowly.
“Are you okay?” Jake whispered.
I felt like screaming. This just wasn’t fair. “Where are we?” My voice was almost inaudible.
“In a forest.” He smiled wryly.
I nodded. “Can I scream?”
“What?”
“How deep is the forest?” I have to scream.”
“It depends on how loud—”
I screamed. Loudly. Jacob winced.
My screaming became more of a howl, all mixed up with pain, fear and tears.
My knees couldn’t take it. I fell softly to the ground. I didn’t stop screaming. Or howling, whatever it was I did.
Jacob lifted me up and embraced me tightly. I swung my legs around him. My scream was not much of a scream anymore, the sobs took over.
“Nessie, Nessie...” He stroke my hair.
I was confused. I wouldn’t tell Jacob about my dream, I just couldn’t do that. But on the other hand, he thought I was just scared of myself and a baby. And that wasn’t exactly the truth.
“Nessie, you need to hunt,” Jake whispered in my ear.
Since I already had my hands around his neck, I decided to ask him about the phone call. I showed him a picture of Carlisle.
“I’ll tell you later. You need to get some blood. Now”
I groaned, but I also searched the air for any scents. My nostrils flared, and I put my feet back on the ground.
Jacob let go of me. “Go. I’ll come right after you.”
I followed the delicious scent until I saw a stream of light through the trees.
There it was. A full-grown deer, standing right beside the brightness.
I walked closer in a circle, moving soundlessly behind the trees. The deer was feeding on grass. The fire was burning in my throat. I swallowed once, and then I attacked the creature’s neck.
The warmth of the blood made me want even more of it. And the taste. It was like I’d never tasted anything like it, though I knew I had.
As I fed, I heard a crack, and I immediately turned around and growled.
“Woah, Jake! Don’t scare me like that!”
He tilted his head to one side, as if to say I’m sorry.
“Apology accepted. Just don’t do it again.” I turned back to the lifeless animal in my hands. “Whatever, it’s dead already,” I sighed. Then my stomach reminded me of how I’d figured out I was thirsty in the first place. The sound was very odd; I grimaced at it.
I thought about Jacob. He had just shifted, so it felt quite pointless to make him shift back and get some real food at once. At least that was what I thought. I wondered if Sam was telling Jacob anything. I didn’t know what he would want to talk about at the moment,  but since I didn’t know what else to say I figured I might as well ask. “Did you hear anything from Sam?”
Jacob shook his head slightly. So Sam wasn’t wolf right now, then. Good. They hadn’t noticed that we were gone yet.
“Okay. Maybe we should get back...” I proposed.
Jake shifted. “Maybe we should,” he said as he put his sweats back on. “Or we could just go to a restaurant,” he offered.
I thought about that for a moment. “Did you have any special restaurant in mind?” I grinned.
“I don’t know. I just thought that since we are in a big city—or a city at all—maybe we could do something different. Plus I think it’s a little difficult to cook in the hotel room...”
“Yeah, I guess you’re right. So, you never answered my question.”
“What question?”
“About the size of the forest.” I smiled.
“Oh, that question. Well, I mean, it’s pretty big—”
“What direction?” I asked eagerly; I wanted to race him.
“The hotel?”
I nodded, probably a little too excited.
He pointed out the direction.
I grinned. “Last one there’s a human!” I took off through the trees. The wind was blowing in my hair, and I really enjoyed that feeling. I thought I could hear Jacob behind me, but I wasn’t sure.
I sped up; I couldn’t lose my own bet. My breathing was even, just as usual. The forest didn’t have quite the same scent as the one around Forks and La Push. This was still musky, but a somewhat drier version of musky. I would almost say a little sweeter. Yes, definitely sweeter. I thought I recognized it a little.
Nah, I was probably thinking about it too much. I listened after Jacob instead. Strange, I could only hear my own footsteps. Until I heard him growl.
I stopped immediately and turned around to see what he was growling at.
That’s when I saw her for the third time.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Kajsa Pedersen

VA? Det kan ju inte vara Victoria (hon var min första tanke, men sedan kom jag ju på att hon är död) Kanske Irina eller nån !?

Skriv snart igen, jag behöver verkligen få veta annars dör jag! ;)

HUGS

2010-09-15 @ 17:39:08
URL: http://kajsapedersen.devote.se
Postat av: Lena

Men shit!!! Vilken cliffhanger! Håller med Kajsa ovan! Tänkte först på Victoria men ja, det går ju inte! ;) haha! Du får helt enkelt fortsätta!! :D<3


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0